From 2004 to DigitalHub: tracing 21CTL's data-centre journey
A dated, source-by-source account of 21CTL's data-centre story, with capacity figures kept in their original context instead of merged into one number.
A data-centre story is easy to tell badly. Capacity figures from different years describe different sites and different stages, and reducing them to a single number turns history into a claim about today. This article lays the record out with dates.
2004: an attributed starting point
Wale Ajisebutu has said that 21CTL completed its first data-centre project in 2004. We treat that as the company's own milestone and do not read it as evidence of being first in Nigeria.
2015 and 2018: established operator, new programmes
Industry reporting in 2015 listed 21CTL among the established data-centre operators in Nigeria. In 2018 21CTL and Schneider Electric were reported to be working together on data-centre infrastructure; the scope of that work is not stated in the reporting we hold.
2022: Lekki, Ikeja and power
In 2022 DatacenterDynamics reported that Lekki Phase 1 was available and that a 36MW campus at Ikeja was planned. In the same year 21CTL and Siemens Energy agreed terms involving two 10MW SGT-400 gas-turbine power plants associated with the Lekki and Ikeja sites. That is an agreement and a planned installation, and this article does not state that the plants are operating.
Later: Ikeja described as under construction
Later company material described the Ikeja campus as 50MW and under construction. The date of that material is not established here.
Later, date not establishedIkeja campus: 50MW, under construction (company-attributed material).
2022Lekki and Ikeja power: two 10MW SGT-400 turbine plants, agreement reported; operation not confirmed.
Certification
Uptime Institute's registry lists Tier IV Certification of Design Documents for 21st Century Digital Hub Data Centre 1, DHDX, in Lagos, and Tier III Certification of Design Documents for Konet Data Centre DC01 and DC03. A Certification of Design Documents is not a Certification of Constructed Facility; the explainer on this topic covers the wording.
Sources and attribution
This article draws on the sources below. Statements made by Wale Ajisebutu or by the company are attributed in the text and are not presented as independently established.
Wale AjisebutuPublic statements (attributed)
Independent industry reporting2015; 2018; DatacenterDynamics 2022; Siemens Energy agreement 2022
Company-attributed materialLater description of the Ikeja campus
Uptime InstituteTier Certification registry
Last reviewed . Spotted something that is out of date or wrong? Tell us.
The registry names DigitalHub DHDX's certification as a Tier IV Certification of Design Documents. This explainer sets out what that wording does and does not allow us to say.
A partner-by-partner reading of 21CTL's announcements in connectivity, data-centre power, cloud and open innovation, separating what was announced from what the public record leaves unsaid.
·2 min read
From 2004 to DigitalHub: tracing 21CTL's data-centre journey